Lexington District One names schools’ Teachers of the Year

Jan 14 2021

Lexington County School District One proudly announces its 31 school-level Teachers of the Year. These 31 teachers will represent their schools in the district’s 2020–2021 Teacher of the Year selection process.

This year’s honorees include Beechwood Middle Computer Science Teacher Lois A. Byars, Carolina Springs Elementary Third Grade Teacher Tracie K. Prevatte, Carolina Springs Middle Resource Teacher Virginia A. Henke, Centerville Elementary Resource Teacher Stephanie N. Motley, Deerfield Elementary First Grade Immersion Teacher Pamela B. Hutchinson, Forts Pond Elementary Fifth Grade Teacher Wayne D. Bruner, Gilbert Elementary Interventionist E. Hope Halfacre, Gilbert High Mathematics Teacher Abigail J. Buchanan, GilbertMiddle Family Consumer Science Teacher LynnMarie Heelan, Lake Murray Elementary Librarian Nan A. Davis, Lexington Elementary Fifth Grade Teacher Linda M. Roshto, Lexington High Art Teacher Candace M. Cannon, Lexington Middle Special Education Teacher Karen T. Albertson, Lexington Technology Center Health Occupations Teacher Alana K. Miller, Meadow Glen Elementary First Grade Teacher Caroline M. Cartin, Meadow Glen Middle STEM Teacher Clifton J. Roberts, Midway Elementary Fifth Grade Teacher Melissa A. Tkacs, New Providence Elementary Resource Teacher Kelli C.
Ingram, Oak Grove Elementary Art Teacher Moraima Rosario, Pelion Elementary Fifth Grade Teacher Erika A. Fisher, Pelion High ESOL Teacher Susana M. Cascante Fifer, Pelion Middle Sixth Grade Mathematics Teacher Whitney C. Wiles, Pleasant Hill Elementary Fifth Grade Teacher Jessica P. Moore, Pleasant Hill Middle Seventh Grade Mathematics Teacher Ronald J. Block, Red Bank Elementary Fourth Grade Teacher Leah B. Haugen, River Bluff High Mathematics Teacher Robin N. Hill, Rocky Creek Elementary 4-Year-Old Kindergarten Teacher Mary Jane Britt, Saxe Gotha Elementary Fourth Grade Teacher Erica M. Bohnsack, White Knoll Elementary Second Grade Teacher Elizabeth W. Banco, White Knoll High Drama Teacher Brandi L. Owensby, and White Knoll Middle Seventh Grade Language Arts Teacher Monica W. Fountain.

These 31 school-level TOYs now turn in a written application form.

Since the district currently has 17 elementary schools, eight middle schools, five high
schools and one technology center, three teams of elementary school-level judges, one
team of middle school-level judges and one team of high school-level judges will use an
established rubric to read and score application forms.

The two school-level TOYs with the highest scores from each team become the top 10
finalists. There will be six elementary school finalists, two middle school finalists and two
high school finalists.

These 10 finalists go on to compete for District Teacher of the Year. As part of that process, judges will assess the 10 finalists again in three categories — paperwork, interview and classroom observation — to determine the District Teacher of the Year.
The announcement of the Top 10 finalists is expected to take place mid-February.