Lexington District One names schools’ Teachers of the Year

Nov 11 2019

Lexington County School District One proudly announces its 31 school- level Teachers of the Year. These 31 teachers will represent their schools in the district’s 2019– 2020 Teacher of the Year selection process.

This year’s honorees include Beechwood Middle Special Education Teacher Anné M. Peterson, Carolina Springs Elementary Resource Teacher Haley R. Lawson, Carolina Springs Middle Drama Teacher Jennifer S. Simmons, Deerfield Elementary First Grade Teacher Bethany B. Paetow, Forts Pond Elementary STEM Teacher Helen E. Siceloff, Gilbert Elementary Fourth Grade Teacher Kristen E. Smalley, Gilbert High Science Teacher Dani G. Stroud, Gilbert Middle Speech Teacher Bridgette L. Lim, Gilbert Primary First Grade Teacher Whitney T. Umbarger, Lake Murray Elementary Lead Interventionist Carolyn A. Carroll, Lexington Elementary Music Teacher Kristen M. Williams, Lexington High IB Program Coordinator and Social Studies Teacher Derek M. Allison, Lexington Middle Seventh Grade Language Arts Teacher Stephanie E. Ascolese, Lexington Technology Center Business Education Teacher Deborah K. Cronin, Meadow Glen Elementary First Grade Immersion Partner Teacher Shannon B. Cornelius, Meadow Glen Middle Special Education Teacher Anna B. Stackhouse,\Midway Elementary Kindergarten Teacher Melissa L. Livingston, New Providence Elementary Second Grade Teacher Allison M. Blewett, Oak Grove Elementary Kindergarten Teacher Mary P. Dudley, Pelion Elementary Second Grade Teacher Nicole H. Shumpert, Pelion High Special Education Teacher Traci D. Holcomb, Pelion Middle Eighth Grade Science Teacher Jennifer L. May, Pleasant Hill Elementary Fifth Grade Teacher Jennifer H. Farmer, Pleasant Hill Middle Resource Teacher Tricia A. Lanum, Red Bank Elementary Special Education Teacher Britani A. Magargle, River Bluff High Social Studies Teacher Keith J. Brayman Jr., Rocky Creek Elementary Third Grade Teacher Whitney G. Seddon, Saxe Gotha Elementary Kindergarten Teacher Jacquelyn D. Moran, White Knoll Elementary Special Education Teacher Danika M. Olafson, White Knoll High Social Studies Teacher Walter J. Allen, and White Knoll Middle Special Education Teacher Bonnie L. Slyce.

19-20 TOYsIn the coming weeks, these 31 school-level TOYs turn in a written application form. Three teams of elementary school level judges (17 elementary schools, one team of five and two teams of six), one team of middle school level judges (8 candidates), and one team of high school level judges (5 candidates) will use an established rubric to read and score application forms.

The two school-level TOYs with the highest scores from each team become the top 10 finalists who go on to compete for District Teacher of the Year. There will be six elementary school finalists, two middle school finalists and two high school finalists.

Judges then assess the 10 finalists again in three categories — paperwork, interview and classroom observation — to determine the District Teacher of the Year.

The 7 p.m. celebration of all of the Teachers of the Year and the announcement of the new District Teacher of the Year takes place Tuesday, March 31, 2020, at the Lexington One Performing Arts Center located on the campus of River Bluff High School.