Lexington District One names 10 Teacher of the Year finalists

Feb 19 2021

Lexington County School District One announces its 10 Teacher of the Year finalists for 2020–2021. These finalists go on to compete for District Teacher of the Year.

On Feb. 18 and 19, Superintendent Dr. Gregory Little surprised the finalists with the news.

This year’s honorees include Carolina Springs Elementary Third Grade Teacher Tracie K. Prevatte, Deerfield Elementary First Grade Immersion Teacher Pamela B. Hutchinson, Gilbert Elementary Interventionist E. Hope Halfacre, Lexington Middle Special Education Teacher Karen T. Albertson, Midway Elementary Fifth Grade Teacher Melissa A. Tkacs, Pelion Middle Sixth Grade Mathematics Teacher Whitney C. Wiles, Pleasant Hill Elementary Fifth Grade Teacher Jessica P. Moore, River Bluff High Mathematics Teacher Robin N. Hill, Rocky Creek Elementary 4-Year-Old Kindergarten Teacher Mary Jane Britt, and White Knoll High Drama Teacher Brandi L. Owensby.

Since the district currently has 17 elementary schools, eight middle schools, five high schools and one technology center, three teams of elementary school-level judges, one team of middle school-level judges and one team of high school-level judges used an established rubric to read and score application forms. As part of the selection process, all 31 school-level Teachers of the Year completed a written application form.

The two school-level TOYs with the highest scores from each team became the top 10 finalists, resulting in six elementary school finalists, two middle school finalists and two high school finalists.

Judges will assess the 10 finalists again in three categories — paperwork, interview and classroom observation — to determine the District Teacher of the Year. The announcement of the district-level winner is expected to take place on April 26.